U.S. Senate, 1948 Election


Date: November 2, 1948
Cycle: 1948
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Hubert H. Humphrey Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 729,494 59.78 +19.97
Joseph H. Ball Incumbent Man Republican 485,801 39.81
Vincent R. Dunne Man Socialist Workers 4,951 0.41
Henrik Shipstead Man Write-In 1 0.00
Stafford King Man Write-In 1 0.00
Walter H. Judd Man Write-In 1 0.00
Joseph Shields Man Write-In 1 0.00

Senator Ball became the sixth incumbent U.S. Senator to lose reelection joining Democrat James Shields in 1859, Democrat Charles Towne in 1901, Republican Moses Clapp in 1916, Republican Frank Kellogg in 1922, and Republican Henrik Shipstead in 1946.

Humphrey was a resident of Minneapolis, former political science professor at Macalester College (1943-1944), radio news commentator, and Mayor of Minnneapolis (1945-1948). He would later serve as Vice President (1965-1969).

Dunne was a resident of Minneapolis, Farmer-Labor candidate for the 5th CD in 1928, Workers Communist nominee for U.S. Senate in 1928, Socialist nominee for Secretary of State in 1936, and the Socialist Workers nominee for U.S. Senate in 1952, and 1954. Dunne was nominated by petition.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1949 (Abstract of Votes Polled for State Officers By Counties).