President / Vice President, 2008 Election


Date: November 4, 2008
Cycle: 2008
Office: President / Vice President
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Running mate Party Votes Percent Margin
Barack Obama Man Joseph Biden (Man) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 1,573,354 54.06 +10.24
John McCain Man Sarah Palin (Woman) Republican 1,275,409 43.82
Ralph Nader Man Matt Gonzalez (Man) Independent 30,152 1.04
Bob Barr Man Wayne A. Root (Man) Libertarian 9,174 0.32
Charles (Chuck) Baldwin Man Darrell L. Castle (Man) Constitution 6,787 0.23
Cynthia McKinney Woman Rosa A. Clemente (Woman) Green 5,174 0.18
RĂ³ger Calero Man Alyson Kennedy (Woman) Socialist Workers 790 0.03
Alan Keyes Man Brian Rorbaugh (Man) Write-In 22 0.00
Brian Moore Man Stewart A. Alexander (Man) Write-In 7 0.00
Joe Schriner Man Dale Way (Man) Write-In 3 0.00
Curtis Montgomery Man Janice Montgomery (Woman) Write-In 1 0.00

Obama and Biden each received Minnesota's 10 Electoral College votes. This cycle marked a party record ninth consecutive win in Minnesota for a Democratic presidential ticket.


  • Report of the State Canvassing Board, Office of Secretary of State, State of Minnesota, November 18, 2008 (p. 6-20).