President / Vice President, 2020 Election


Date: November 3, 2020
Cycle: 2020
Office: President / Vice President
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Running mate Party Votes Percent Margin
Joseph Biden Man Kamala Harris (Woman) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 1,717,049 52.40 +7.11
Donald J. Trump Incumbent Man Mike Pence (Man) Incumbent Republican 1,484,048 45.29
Jo Jorgensen Woman Jeremy (Spike) Cohen (Man) Libertarian 34,976 1.07
Howie Hawkins Man Angela Walker (Woman) Green 10,034 0.31
Kanye West Man Michelle Tidball (Woman) Independent 7,939 0.24
Brock Pierce Man Karla Ballard (Woman) Independent 5,651 0.17
Roque (Rocky) De La Fuente Man Darcy Richardson (Man) Independence-Alliance 5,611 0.17
Gloria La Riva Woman Leonard Peltier (Man) Socialism and Liberation 1,210 0.04
Brian Carroll Man Amar Patel (Man) Write-In 1,037 0.03
Alyson Kennedy Woman Malcolm Jarrett (Man) Socialist Workers 643 0.02
Mark Charles Man Adrian Wallace (Man) Write-In 112 0.00
Don Blankenship Man William Alan Mohr (Man) Write-In 75 0.00
Thomas Hoefling Man Andy Prior (Man) Write-In 12 0.00
Jason Stanek Man Taylor Motari (Man) Write-In 2 0.00
Michael Laboch Man Raechelle Pope (Woman) Write-In 2 0.00
Frederick Michael Carl Frederickson Man Todd William Larson (Man) Write-In 1 0.00
Ryan J. Gilmer Man Brent S. Duncan (Man) Write-In 1 0.00
Dario Hunter Man Dawn Neptune Adams (Woman) Write-In 1 0.00
Shawn Howard Man Alyssa Howard (Woman) Write-In 1 0.00

Joseph Biden and Kamala Harris each received Minnesota's 10 Electoral College votes.

With this win by Biden, Minnesota extended its record for the most consecutive presidential victories by Democratic nominees outside of the South at 12 in a row.


  • Report of the State Canvassing Board, Office of Secretary of State, State of Minnesota, November 24, 2020 (p. 4-12). State of Minnesota Write-In Report, Office of Secretary of State, November 24, 2020 (p. 1-17).