U.S. Senate, 1934 Election


Date: November 6, 1934
Cycle: 1934
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Henrik Shipstead Incumbent Man Farmer-Labor 503,379 49.87 +20.67
Einar Hoidale Man Democrat 294,757 29.20
Nathaniel John (N.J.) Holmberg Man Republican 200,083 19.82
Alfred Tiala Man Communist 5,620 0.56
Morris Kaplan Man Socialist 5,618 0.56

Senator Shipstead was reelected to a third term.

Hoidale was an attorney and former state Commissioner of Agriculture, Dairy and Food from Minneapolis, former prosecuting attorney of Brown County (1900-1906), former judge advocate of the state militia (1900-1908), Democratic candidate for the 5th CD in 1910 and 1912, Democratic nominee for the 5th CD in 1929, Democratic nominee for the U.S. Senate in 1930, and a U.S. Representative (At-large, 1933-1935).

Holmberg was a farmer from Renville, former state Representative (HD 22, 1907-1915), state Senator (SD 23, 1915-1919), Commissioner of Agriculture (1919-1931), candidate for Governor in 1930, nominee for an at-large U.S. House seat in 1932, and independent candidate for U.S. Senate in 1936. Holmberg would later win election to the Minnesota Railroad and Warehouse Commission (1940-1951).

Tiala was a resident of Waterville and national secretary of the United Farmers' League. He was nominated by petition.

Kaplan was a businessman from Bemidji, former Mayor of Bemidji, and Public Ownership nominee for the 8th CD in 1912. He was nominated by petition.


  • Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, Statistics of the Congressional Election of November 6, 1934 (p. 13).