Secretary of State, 1859 Election


Date: October 11, 1859
Cycle: 1859
Office: Secretary of State
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
James H. Baker Man Republican 20,732 53.47 +6.95
Francis Baasen Incumbent Man Democrat 18,039 46.53

With Bassen's loss, Democrats would lose the next 48 elections to the office of Secretary of State until Joseph Donovan's victory in 1954.

Baker was a former Ohio Secretary of State (1856-1858) who later settled in Mankato and served as Railroad Commissioner (1882-1887).


  • Journal of the House of Representatives of the Second Legislature of the State of Minnesota, 1859 (p. 39).