Governor, 2018 Election

Primary Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Date: August 14, 2018
Cycle: 2018
Office: Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Running mate Party Votes Percent Margin
Tim Walz Man Peggy Flanagan (Woman) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 242,832 41.60 +9.57
Erin Murphy Man Erin Maye Quade (Woman) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 186,969 32.03
Lori Swanson Woman Richard M. (Rick) Nolan (Man) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 143,517 24.59
Tim Holden Man James Mellin (Man) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 6,398 1.10
Ole Savior Man Chris Edman (Man) Democratic-Farmer-Labor 4,019 0.69

Walz was a U.S. Representative (CD 01, 2007-2019) from Mankato; Flanagan was a nonprofit executive from St. Louis Park and state Representative (HD 46A, 2015-2019).

Murphy, a nurse from St. Paul, was the DFL-endorsed candidate and state Representative (HD 64A, 2007-2019); Maye-Quade was a community representative from Apple Valley and state Representative (HD 57A, 2017-2019). The Murphy/Maye-Quade ticket was the first all-woman gubernatorial ticket in DFL history.

Swanson an attorney from Eagan, former Minnesota Solicitor General (2003-2007), Deputy Attorney General (1999-2003), and sitting Attorney General (2007-2019); Nolan was a former state Representative (HD 53A, 1969-1973) and sitting U.S. Representative (CD 06, 1975-1981; CD 08, 2013-2019) from Crosby.

Holden was a contractor and real estate investor from St. Paul and candidate for St. Paul Mayor in 2013 and 2017; Mellin was a chiropractor in Edina.

Savior was an artist and perennial candidate from Minneapolis and DFL gubernatorial candidate in 1998, 2002, and 2006, Republican gubernatorial candidate in 2010, and Republican U.S. Senate candidate in 2014.


  • State of Minnesota Legislative Manual, 2019-2020 (p. 513).