2018 Election Cycle

The DFL swept all constitutional offices for a party record third consecutive cycle with all but one of these elections for an open seat. Congressman Tim Walz and state Representative Peggy Flanagan held the offices of Governor and Lieutenant Governor for the party with Secretary of State Steve Simon reelected to a second term, Ramsey math teacher Julie Blaha elected Auditor, and Congressman Keith Ellison elected Attorney General. This was the first cycle in Minnesota history in which Democrats won back-to-back gubernatorial elections without an incumbent.

Minnesota’s U.S. House delegation witnessed its biggest shake-up in decades with four seats switching partisan hands: Republican Jim Hagedorn flipped Walz’s open 1st CD, DFLer Angie Craig unseated freshman Jason Lewis in the 2nd CD, Dean Phillips defeated five-term Republican Erik Paulsen in the 3rd CD, and Republican Pete Stauber flipped Rick Nolan’s open 8th CD.

For the fourth time in five cycles there was a change in partisan control of the state House with the DFL netting 18 seats and gaining a 75-59 majority over the GOP.

All four incumbents won their respective elections for the Supreme Court: Chief Justice Lorie Skjerven Gildea, Associate Justice Barry Anderson, and appointed Associate Justices Margaret Chutich and Anne McKeig.


Date Office Stage Winners Details
11/06/2018 State Senate, District 13 Special Jeff Howe (Republican) won with 21,714 votes (57.38%) and a winning margin of +14.81
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Jeff Howe Man Republican 21,714 57.38
Joe Perske Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 16,108 42.57
Scattering Write-In 20 0.05

Special election to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Republican Senator Michelle Fischbach on May 25, 2018 to become Lieutenant Governor. As president of the state senate, Fischbach had already ascended to the position of Lieutenant Governor on January 3, 2018 following Tina Smith's election to the U.S. Senate.

See more details »
11/06/2018 U.S. Senate Special Tina Smith (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) won with 1,370,540 votes (52.97%) and a winning margin of +10.62
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Tina Smith Incumbent Woman Democratic-Farmer-Labor 1,370,540 52.97
Karin Housley Woman Republican 1,095,777 42.35
Sarah Wellington Woman Legal Marijuana Now 95,614 3.70
Jerry Trooien Man Unaffiliated 24,324 0.94
Scattering Write-In 1,089 0.04
Stephen A. Emery Man Write-In 6 0.00
Mike Kuitu Man Write-In 3 0.00
Tim Nelson Man Write-In 2 0.00
Kevin Hartnett Man Write-In 1 0.00

Appointed U.S. Senator Smith was elected to finish former Senator Al Franken's unexpired term.

Housley was a realtor from St. Mary's Point and sitting state Senator (SD 39, 2013-present).

Wellington was a public school teacher in St. Paul.

Trooien was a real estate developer from St. Paul.

See more details »
11/06/2018 State House, District 67B General Jay Xiong (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) won with 10,235 votes (78.10%) and a winning margin of +56.53
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Jay Xiong Incumbent Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 10,235 78.10
Fred Turk Man Republican 2,827 21.57
Scattering Write-In 43 0.33
11/06/2018 State House, District 67A General Tim Mahoney (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) won with 9,557 votes (96.41%) and a winning margin of +96.41
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Tim Mahoney Incumbent Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 9,557 96.41
Scattering Write-In 356 3.59
11/06/2018 State House, District 08B General Mary Franson (Republican) won with 11,831 votes (62.04%) and a winning margin of +24.12
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Mary Franson Incumbent Woman Republican 11,831 62.04
Gail Kulp Woman Democratic-Farmer-Labor 7,231 37.92
Scattering Write-In 7 0.04