U.S. Senate, 1990 Election


Date: November 6, 1990
Cycle: 1990
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Paul Wellstone Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 911,999 50.44 +2.63
Rudy Boschwitz Incumbent Man Independent-Republican 864,375 47.81
Russell B. Bentley Man Grassroots 29,820 1.65

Senator Boschwitz became the ninth incumbent U.S. Senator to lose reelection joining Democrat James Shields in 1859, Democrat Charles Towne in 1901, Republican Moses Clapp in 1916, Republican Frank Kellogg in 1922, Republican Henrik Shipstead in 1946, Republican Joseph Ball in 1948, Republican Edward J. Thye in 1958, and DFLer Wendell Anderson in 1978.

Wellstone was a resident of Northfield, professor of political science at Carleton College, and DFL nominee for Auditor in 1982.

Bentley was a tree surgeon from Minneapolis and Grassroots nominee for the 5th CD in 1992. Bentley was nominated by petition.


  • Report of the State Canvassing Board, Office of Secretary of State, State of Minnesota, November 20, 1990 (p. 1-4).