U.S. Senate, 1964 Election


Date: November 3, 1964
Cycle: 1964
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Eugene J. McCarthy Incumbent Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 931,353 60.34 +21.08
Wheelock Whitney Man Republican 605,933 39.25
William Braatz Man Industrial Government 3,947 0.26
Everett E. Luoma Man Socialist Workers 2,357 0.15

Senator McCarthy was reelected to a second term.

Whitney was a resident of Wayzata, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of the investment firm J.M. Dain & Co., Mayor of Wayzata (1963-1968), and Independent-Republican nominee for Governor in 1982.

Braatz was a resident of Plymouth and Industrial Government nominee for Governor in 1962, for U.S. Senate in 1966 and 1970 and for the 5th CD in 1968. He was nominated by petition.

Luoma was a resident of Minneapolis and candidate for HD 29 in 1960. He was nominated by petition.


  • State of Minnesota Legislative Manual, 1965-1966 (p. 414-416).