U.S. Senate, 1958 Election

Primary Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Date: September 9, 1958
Cycle: 1958
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Eugene J. McCarthy Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 279,796 75.65 +55.01
Hjalmar Petersen Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 76,340 20.64
Hans R. Miller Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 13,736 3.71

McCarthy was a resident of St. Paul, former high school teacher and college professor, and sitting U.S. Representative (CD 04, 1949-1959).

Petersen was an editor and publisher from Askov, a former state Representative (HD 56, 1931-1935), Lieutenant Governor (1935-1936), and Governor (1936-1937), sitting Railroad and Warehouse Commissioner (1937-1943, 1955-1967), Farmer-Labor candidate for Governor in 1938, Farmer-Labor nominee for Governor in 1940 and 1942, Republican candidate for Governor in 1946, and DFL candidate for Governor in 1950.

Miller was a resident of Anoka and DFL candidate for the 3rd CD in 1966 and 1968.


  • State of Minnesota Legislative Manual, 1959-1960 (p. 454).