Railroad & Warehouse Commissioner, 1946 Election


Date: November 5, 1946
Cycle: 1946
Office: Railroad & Warehouse Commissioner
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Nathaniel John (N.J.) Holmberg Incumbent Man Republican 475,619 56.87 +13.75
Paul A. Rasmussen Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 360,664 43.13

This election was for a six-year term. Commissioner Holmberg was reelected to a second term. He died in office on June 14, 1951. Governor Luther Youngdahl appointed Duluth Finance Commissioner E.W. (Wally) Lund to fill the vacancy on June 20, 1951. Lund took office on August 1, 1951.

Rasmussen was a resident of Moorhead, former state Budget Commissioner under Governor Floyd Olson, Farmer-Labor nominee for Secretary of State in 1938 and candidate for Governor in 1942, and DFL nominee for state Treasurer in 1950. He would later get elected as a DFLer to the Railroad and Warehouse Commission (1952-1966) and Public Service Commission (1967-1970).


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1947 (p. 360).