Railroad & Warehouse Commissioner, 1940 Election

Primary Republican

Date: September 10, 1940
Cycle: 1940
Office: Railroad & Warehouse Commissioner
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Nathaniel John (N.J.) Holmberg Man Republican 73,687 25.41 +8.08
Axel A. Anderson Man Republican 50,248 17.33
Christian J. Laurisch Man Republican 41,487 14.31
Lucian C. Miller Man Republican 29,828 10.29
Theodore M. Munson Man Republican 26,674 9.20
Jalmer O. (J.O.) Johnson Man Republican 22,276 7.68
Andrew (A.J.) Olson Man Republican 21,807 7.52
Delbert (D.F.) Jurgensen Man Republican 11,988 4.13
Melvin B. Jebb Man Republican 11,964 4.13

Holmberg was a farmer from Renville, former state Representative (HD 22, 1907-1915), state Senator (SD 23, 1915-1919), Commissioner of Agriculture (1919-1931), candidate for Governor in 1930, nominee for an at-large U.S. House seat in 1932, nominee for U.S. Senate in 1934, and independent candidate for U.S. Senate in 1936.

Anderson was a resident of Owatonna and eventual state Representative (HD 55, 1943-1949, 1953-1955).

Laurisch was an attorney and farmer from Mankato and former Railroad and Warehouse Commissioner (1928-1935).

Miller was a resident of Minneapolis and sitting Minneapolis Park Commissioner.

Munson was a resident of St. Paul.

Johnson was a resident of Minneapolis, former chief grain and weighing inspector for the Railroad and Warehouse Commission for 35 years, candidate for Railroad and Warehouse commissioner in 1938, 1942, and 1944, candidate for the 3rd CD in 1950, and nominee for HD 35 in 1952 and 1954.

Olson was a resident of Renville, University of Minnesota regent, former president of the State Farm Bureau, candidate for the 7th CD in 1936, and candidate for Railroad and Warehouse Commissioner in 1942.

Jurgensen was an engineer from St. Paul and Republican candidate for Railroad and Warehouse Commissioner in 1934.

Jebb was a farmer from Paynesville, former teacher, and sitting state Representative (HD 26, 1933-1937, 1939-1941).


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1941 (p. 221).