Governor, 1920 Election


Date: November 2, 1920
Cycle: 1920
Office: Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Jacob A.O. (J.A.O.) Preus Man Republican 415,805 53.06 +17.15
Henrik Shipstead Man Independent 281,402 35.91
Laurence (Larry Ho) Hodgson Man Democrat 81,293 10.37
Peter J. Sampson Man Socialist 5,124 0.65

Preus was an attorney from Minneapolis, former state Insurance Commissioner (1911-1915), and sitting state Auditor (1915-1921).

Shipstead was a dentist from Glenwood, former Glenwood Mayor (1911-1913), former state Representative (HD 47, 1917-1919), Republican candidate for Governor in 1920, and future Farmer-Laborite and Republican U.S. Senator (1923-1947). Shipstead was nominated by petition.

Hodgson was a newspaper reporter and columnist and Mayor of St. Paul (1918-1922; 1926-1930).

Sampson was a resident of Minneapolis and Socialist candidate for Minneapolis Treasurer in 1902. Sampson was nominated by petition.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1921 (Abstract of Votes Polled for State Officers By Counties).