Attorney General, 2014 Election


Date: November 4, 2014
Cycle: 2014
Office: Attorney General
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Lori Swanson Incumbent Woman Democratic-Farmer-Labor 1,014,714 52.60 +13.59
Scott Newman Man Republican 752,543 39.01
Dan R. Vacek Man Legal Marijuana Now 57,604 2.99
Brandan Borgos Man Independence 44,613 2.31
Mary O'Connor Woman Libertarian 30,008 1.56
Andy Dawkins Man Green 28,748 1.49

This was the first election for state attorney general featuring two female nominees. It was also the first race with six candidates. Attorney General Swanson was reelected to a third term.

Newman was an attorney from Hutchinson and state Senator (SD 18, 2011-) and former state Representative (HD 18A, 2004-2007).

Vacek was a Ramsey County financial assistance worker.

Borgos was a Minneapolis attorney.

O'Connor was a resident of Brooklyn Center, the state Libertarian Party Treasurer, and a former member of the Brooklyn Center City Council.

Dawkins was an attorney from St. Paul and a former state Representative (HD 65A, 1987-2003).


  • State of Minnesota Legislative Manual, 2015-2016 (p. 504).