U.S. Senate, 1994 Election


Date: November 8, 1994
Cycle: 1994
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Rod Grams Man Independent-Republican 869,653 49.05 +4.95
Ann Wynia Woman Democratic-Farmer-Labor 781,860 44.10
Dean Barkley Man Independence 95,400 5.38
Candice E. Sjostrom Woman Grassroots 15,920 0.90
Stephen (Steve) Johnson Man Natural Law 5,054 0.29
Scattering Write-In 2,614 0.15
Marea Himelgrin Woman Socialist Workers 2,428 0.14

Senator Durenberger did not seek a fourth term after being denounced by the U.S. Senate in 1990 for unethical conduct. He later pled guilty in 1995 to misuse of public funds.

Grams was a resident of Anoka, former broadcaster, president and CEO of Sun Ridge Builders, and sitting U.S. Representative (CD 06, 1993-1995).

Wynia was a resident of St. Paul, instructor of political science at North Hennepin Community College, and former state Representative (HD 62A, 1977-1983; HD 63B, 1983-1989).

Barkely was a mortgage company president from Plymouth, independent candidate for the 6th CD in 1992, Reform nominee for U.S. Senate in 1996, Independence nominee for U.S. Senate in 2008, and nominee for Associate Justice of the Supreme Court in 2012. He was nominated by petition.

Sjostrom was a resident of Tonka Bay, nursing assistant, and Grassroots nominee for Secretary of State in 1990. She was nominated by petition.

Johnson was a rehabilitation counselor from Minneapolis and Natural Law nominee for U.S. Senate in 1996. He was nominated by petition.

Himelgrin was a factory worker from St. Paul. She was nominated by petition.


  • Report of the State Canvassing Board, Office of Secretary of State, State of Minnesota, November 22, 1994 (p. 3-6).