Governor, 1966 Election

Primary Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Date: September 13, 1966
Cycle: 1966
Office: Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Karl Rolvaag Incumbent Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 336,656 66.27 +35.23
Alexander (A.M., Sandy) Keith Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 157,661 31.04
John C. (J.C.) Peterson Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 5,193 1.02
Cyrus Magnusson Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 3,704 0.73
Jerome Daly Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 3,255 0.64
Belmont Tudisco Man Democratic-Farmer-Labor 1,537 0.30

Governor Rolvaag won the DFL endorsement after a 20-ballot battle against Keith and was renominated.

Keith was an attorney from Rochester, former state Senator (SD 04, 1959-1963), and sitting Lieutenant Governor (1963-1967).

Peterson was a resident of Duluth and GOP candidate for U.S. Senate in 1946 and governor in 1952.

Magnusson was the state Commissioner of Insurance (1959-1966) and president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (1964-1965) who was indicted by the federal government on October 29, 1965 for mail fraud, wire fraud, and conspiracy.

Daly was an attorney from Rosemount (disbarred in 1971), DFL U.S. House candidate for the 1st CD in 1962, DFL candidate for the 5th CD in 1966, and candidate for Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in 1970.

Tudisco was a painter from St. Paul and DFL gubernatorial candidate in 1960 and 1962.


  • State of Minnesota Legislative Manual, 1967-1968 (p. 352).