U.S. Senate, 1952 Election

Primary Republican

Date: September 9, 1952
Cycle: 1952
Office: U.S. Senate
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Edward J. Thye Incumbent Man Republican 321,659 84.84 +78.66
Edward C. Slettedahl Man Republican 23,427 6.18
John M. Arneson Man Republican 13,653 3.60
Arthur D. Russell Man Republican 11,221 2.96
Arthur (A.B.) Gilbert Man Republican 9,191 2.42

Senator Thye was renominated to a second term.

Slettedahl was a school teacher from St. Paul, candidate for the 10th CD in 1926, candidate in the Presidential primary in 1952, nominee for the 4th CD in 1956, candidate for the U.S. Senate in 1958, and candidate for the 4th CD in 1960.

Arneson was a resident of Minneapolis.

Russell was a retired accountant from Minneapolis, Farmer-Labor candidate for the 5th CD in 1944, DFL candidate for the 5th CD in 1944 and 1946, Republican candidate for U.S. Senate in 1954, and Republican candidate for the 5th CD in 1956, 1958, and 1960.

Gilbert was a resident of Mound, former president of the Recovery League of Minnesota, GOP candidate for Governor in 1934, 1936, 1940, and 1950 and GOP candidate for U.S. Senate in 1954.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1953 (p. 349).