Lieutenant Governor, 1942 Election

Primary Republican

Date: September 8, 1942
Cycle: 1942
Office: Lieutenant Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Edward J. Thye Man Republican 174,658 44.90 +12.87
C. Elmer Anderson Incumbent Man Republican 124,605 32.03
Elmer Pederson Man Republican 33,236 8.54
Franklin F. Ellsworth Man Republican 20,967 5.39
Howard O. Nelson Man Republican 12,327 3.17
Victor E. Johnson Man Republican 9,700 2.49
Harold A. (Hal) Olson Man Republican 7,508 1.93
Victor D. Engstrom Man Republican 6,023 1.55

Anderson became the first Lieutenant Governor to lose a primary and the first incumbent for the office to lose a general election in state history.

Thye was a resident of Northfield, the state Dairy and Food Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture (1939-1942).

Pederson was a resident of Hastings who ran for the DFL nomination for Lieutenant Governor in 1950.

Ellsworth was an attorney from Minneapolis, former Watonwan County prosecuting attorney (1905-1909), former U.S. Representative (CD 02, 1915-1921), and candidate for Governor in 1920, 1922, 1924, and 1932. He also was a candidate for Lieutenant Governor in 1934, 1936, and 1940.

Nelson was a resident of Mankato.

Johnson was a resident of Le Sueur. He was a DFL candidate for Governor in 1946 and Supreme Court Clerk 1950.

Olson was a resident of St. Paul.

Engstrom was a resident of St. Paul Park and GOP candidate for the 3rd CD in 1950.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1943 (p. 267).