Lieutenant Governor, 1942 Election


Date: November 3, 1942
Cycle: 1942
Office: Lieutenant Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Edward J. Thye Man Republican 417,008 55.65 +22.23
Juls J. Anderson Man Farmer-Labor 250,410 33.42
Joseph H. Kowalkowski Man Democrat 81,911 10.93
C. Elmer Anderson Incumbent Man Write-In 18 0.00

Thye was a resident of Northfield, the state Dairy and Food Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture (1939-1942). Thye did not serve out his term as he succeeded Governor Harold Stassen who resigned on April 27, 1943 to enlist in the U.S. Navy. State Senator Archie Miller (SD 36, 1931-1943, 1945-1959) succeeded Thye.

Anderson was a resident of St. Paul. He was a Socialist nominee for the 8th CD in 1916 and Farmer-Labor candidate for Lieutenant Governor in 1924.

Kowalkowski was an insurance agent from St. Cloud. He was the Democratic nominee for the 6th CD in 1936 and candidate for the 6th CD in 1940.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1943 (Abstract of Votes Polled for State Officers By Counties).