Lieutenant Governor, 1940 Election

Primary Republican

Date: September 10, 1940
Cycle: 1940
Office: Lieutenant Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
C. Elmer Anderson Incumbent Man Republican 116,883 38.77 +22.31
Franklin F. Ellsworth Man Republican 49,631 16.46
Charles O. (C.O.) Lundquist Man Republican 41,241 13.68
George W. Johnson Man Republican 27,311 9.06
Charles A. Lund Man Republican 25,952 8.61
Edward E. Olsen Man Republican 15,747 5.22
Arvid Ruotsinoja Man Republican 12,468 4.14
George Borchardt Man Republican 12,237 4.06

This was the first Republican primary for Lieutenant Governor with eight candidates, besting the previous mark of seven in the 1930 primary.

Anderson was renominated for a second term.

Ellsworth was an attorney from Minneapolis, former Watonwan County prosecuting attorney (1905-1909), former U.S. Representative (CD 02, 1915-1921), and candidate for Governor in 1920, 1922, 1924, and 1932. He also was a candidate for Lieutenant Governor in 1934, 1936, and 1942.

Lunquist was an attorney from Minneapolis.

Johnson worked in the insurance business in Duluth, was a former state Representative (HD 59, 1925-1937) and House Speaker (1935-1937), and 1938 candidate for Lieutenant Governor.

Lund was a banker and attorney from Vining, a former state Senator (SD 50, 1923-1931), and a Republican candidate for Treasurer in 1920, for Lieutenant governor in 1930, as an independent for the U.S. Senate in 1930, and as a Republican for an at-large U.S. House seat in 1932 and for the 9th CD in 1938.

Olsen was a farmer from Forest Lake. He was also a candidate for Lieutenant Governor in 1954.

Ruotsinoja was a farmer from Kimball and former state Senator (SD 26, 1935-1939).

Borchardt was a resident of Minneapolis who worked for a government service training institution.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1941 (p. 221).