Governor, 1924 Election

Primary Republican

Date: June 16, 1924
Cycle: 1924
Office: Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Theodore Christianson Man Republican 53,938 22.83 +2.84
Ole P.B. (O.P.B.) Jacobson Man Republican 47,225 19.99
George Leach Man Republican 44,986 19.04
Curtis M. Johnson Man Republican 43,260 18.31
Julius Schmahl Man Republican 25,396 10.75
Franklin F. Ellsworth Man Republican 21,478 9.09

The 22.83 percent won by Christianson remains the lowest for a major party in a Minnesota gubernatorial election in state history.

Christianson was an attorney from Dawson, owner and publisher of the Dawson Sentinel, president of the Dawson Village Council (1910-1911), and state Representative (1915-1925). He would later win election to the U.S House (CD 05, 1933-1937) and win the GOP nomination for U.S. Senate in 1936.

Jacobson was a former newspaperman and Railroad and Warehouse Commissioner (1914-1933) from Fergus Falls.

Leach was Mayor of Minneapolis (1921-1929; 1937-1941).

Johnson was a businessman from Rush City, president of the State Agricultural Society, and president of the Minnesota State Fair board.

Schmahl was a newspaper editor and reporter in Redwood Falls, Chief Clerk of the Minnesota House during the 32nd, 33rd, and 34th Legislatures (1901-1907), and former Secretary of State (1907-1921). He would later serve as Treasurer (1927-1937, 1939-1951).

Ellsworth was an attorney from St. James, former Watonwan County prosecuting attorney (1905-1909), former U.S. Representative (CD 02, 1915-1921), and candidate for Governor in 1920 and 1922.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1925 (p. 311).