Treasurer, 1924 Election


Date: November 4, 1924
Cycle: 1924
Office: Treasurer
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Henry Rines Incumbent Man Republican 422,389 53.25 +12.58
Carl M. (C.M.) Berg Man Farmer-Labor 322,585 40.66
Henry H. Reindl Man Democrat 48,302 6.09

This was the 25th consecutive Republican victory for the office of Treasurer.

Treasurer Rines was reelected to a then-record fifth term. Rines resigned on July 1, 1925 to become state Comptroller and Chairman of the Commission of Administration and Finance. Governor Theodore Christianson appointed state Securities Commissioner Edward W. Stark of Center City to the office.

Berg was a farmer from Erksine, former president of the Polk County Farm Bureau, president of the local Farmer Club and Shipping Association, director of the State Federation of Farmer Clubs, nominee for SD 66 in 1928 and 1934, and nominee for HD 66 in 1940.

Reindl was a resident of Odessa.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1925 (Abstract of Votes Polled for State Officers By Counties).