Auditor, 1918 Election


Date: November 5, 1918
Cycle: 1918
Office: Auditor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Jacob A.O. (J.A.O.) Preus Incumbent Man Republican 214,278 62.77 +36.57
Larke (L.W.) Huntley Man Democrat 89,433 26.20
Fremont R. McManigal Man National 37,657 11.03

Auditor Preus was reelected to a second term by the largest margin at this point in Minnesota history (besting Samuel Iverson's 35.59-point win in 1910) and the second largest of all time. Preus did not complete his term, resigning in January 1921 after winning the 1920 gubernatorial election.

Huntley was a resident of Grand Rapids.

McManigal was a resident of St. Paul and employee of the musical instrument company W.J. Dyer & Bro.


  • Wilmar Tribune, November 20, 1918 (p. 4).