Railroad & Warehouse Commissioner, 1914 Election


Date: November 3, 1914
Cycle: 1914
Office: Railroad & Warehouse Commissioner
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Ole P.B. (O.P.B.) Jacobson Incumbent Man Republican 171,017 56.90 +21.80
Loren A. Smith Man Democrat 105,478 35.09
William Hokanson Man Prohibition 24,087 8.01

The election for this seat was for a six-year term.

Jacobson was a resident of Fergus Falls who was appointed to fill the seat after the resignation of Commissioner Charles F. Staples on March 30, 1914 after being unanimously elected by the Interstate Commerce Commission to be a member of the advisory board in the division of valuation. Jacobson was a newspaper editor, president of the Ugeblad Publishing Company, and member of the state Board of Grain Appeals for the Minneapolis district.

Smith was a farmer from Truman, former president and sitting vice president of the Minnesota Grain Dealers' Association, and president of the Truman Farmers' Elevator Company.

Hokanson was a resident of Winthrop, Prohibition nominee for HD 21 in 1908, and National nominee for Railroad and Warehouse Commissioner in 1918.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1915 (p. 537).