Treasurer, 1902 Election


Date: November 4, 1902
Cycle: 1902
Office: Treasurer
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Julius H. Block Incumbent Man Republican 159,320 60.99 +29.35
Halvor L. (H.L.) Shirley Man Democrat 82,646 31.64
Edward (E.W.) Knatvold Man People's 11,153 4.27
Albert J. (A.J.) Kanne Man Prohibition 8,100 3.10

Treasurer Block was reelected to a second term.

Joseph L. Meyers of Little Falls was the initial Democratic nominee. Shirley was a farmer from Breckinridge, bank president, former Register of Deeds of Wilkin County, and Democratic-People's nominee for HD 04 in 1892. He would later serve as a state Representative (HD 49, 1919-1921).

Knatvold was a resident of Albert Lea, second term member of the Albert Lea City Council, and former state Chief Deputy Grain Inspector.

Kanne was a resident of Waterville and partner and cashier of Kanne Bank in Waterville. Kanne was a former Republican.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1903 (p. 515).