Lieutenant Governor, 1902 Election


Date: November 4, 1902
Cycle: 1902
Office: Lieutenant Governor
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Ray W. Jones Man Republican 151,660 57.41 +22.71
Robert A. Smith Man Democrat 91,655 34.70
Hans (H.H.) Aaker Man Prohibition 7,972 3.02
John B. Hompe Man People's 7,736 2.93
Michael A. (M.A.) Brattland Man Socialist 5,143 1.95

Jones was a resident of Minneapolis and president of the Commonwealth Lumber Company.

Smith was a banker from St. Paul, former Ramsey County Treasurer (1856-1868), St. Paul City Councilor (1884-1887), state Representative (HD 27, 1885-1887), state Senator (SD 27, 1887-1891), and sitting St. Paul Mayor.

Aaker was a resident of Moorhead.

Hompke was a long-serving state Representative (HD 43, 1889-1891; HD 50, 1915-1933) and state Senator (SD 48, 1891-1895).

Brattland was a resident of Ada and Public Ownership/Socialist 9th CD U.S. House nominee in 1912 and 1914.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1903 (p. 513).