Secretary of State, 1892 Election


Date: November 8, 1892
Cycle: 1892
Office: Secretary of State
State: Minnesota
District: Statewide
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent Margin
Fred P. Brown Incumbent Man Republican 105,010 42.11 +3.31
Peter Nelson Man Democrat 96,758 38.80
Henry B. (H.B.) Martin Man People's 35,047 14.05
Hans (H.H.) Aaker Man Prohibition 12,585 5.05

Secretary of State Brown was reelected to a second term.

Nelson was a merchant from Red Wing and former state Senator (SD 22, 1887-1891).

Martin was a resident of Minneapolis and former state Representative (HD 18, 1874-1876).

Aaker was a professor at Concordia College in Moorhead. He was elected Mayor of Moorhead in 1900.


  • The Legislative Manual of the State of Minnesota, 1893 (p. 465).