1911 Election Cycle

In January, the state legislature reelected Republican U.S. Senator Moses Clapp to a third term.


Date Office Stage Winners Details
01/17/1911 U.S. Senate General Moses E. Clapp (Republican) won with 161 votes (90.45%) and a winning margin of +83.15
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Moses E. Clapp Incumbent Man Republican 161 90.45
R.T. O'Connor Man Democrat 13 7.30
Winfield S. Hammond Man Democrat 3 1.69
Thomas Van Lear Man Public Ownership 1 0.56

Election by the state legislature with each chamber voting separately. Clapp won 55 of 62 votes in the state Senate with four for O'Connor and three for Hammond. Clapp won 106 of 116 votes in the state House with nine for O'Connor and one for Van Lear. The legislature declared Clapp the duly elected U.S. Senator in a joint convention on January 18, 1911.

Senator Clapp was elected to a third term.

O'Connor was a resident of St. Paul, former Ramsey County Clerk of Courts, U.S Marshal for the District of Minnesota (1895-1899), president of the St. Paul Globe Compnay, member of the brokerage firm O'Connor & Van Bergen, and head of the St. Paul Democratic Party.

Hammond was a resident of St. James, former prosecuting attorney of Watonwan County (1895-1896, 1900-1905), and Democratic U.S. Representative (CD 02, 1907-1915). He was later elected Governor (1915).

Van Lear was the Public Ownership candidate for mayor of Minneapolis in 1910.

See more details »