1905 Election Cycle

In January, the state legislature reelected Republican U.S. Senator Moses Clapp to a second term.


Date Office Stage Winners Details
01/17/1905 U.S. Senate General Moses E. Clapp (Republican) won with 165 votes (92.70%) and a winning margin of +85.96
Candidate Gender Party Votes Percent
Moses E. Clapp Incumbent Man Republican 165 92.70
Robert A. Smith Man Democrat 12 6.74
Frank Clague Man Republican 1 0.56

Election by the state legislature with each chamber voting separately. Clapp won 54 of 60 votes in the state Senate with Smith receiving six. Clapp won 111 of 118 votes in the state House with Smith receiving six and Clague winning one. A large GOP legislative majority plus Democratic defections to Clapp resulted in the most lopsided U.S. Senate race decided by the state legislature in Minnesota history. The legislature declared Clapp the duly elected U.S. Senator in a joint convention on January 18, 1905.

Senator Clapp was reelected to a second term.

Smith was a banker from St. Paul, former state Representative (HD 27, 1885-1887), former state Senator (SD 27, 1887-1891), and Mayor of St. Paul (1887-1892, 1894-1896, 1900-1908).

Clague was an attorney from Lamberton, former Redwood County Attorney (1895-1903), and sitting state Representative (HD 19, 1903-1907). He would later win election to the state Senate (SD 19, 1907-1915) and U.S. House (CD 02, 1921-1933).

See more details »