Breckinridge County

Breckinridge County is a defunct county that was located in Northwestern Minnesota along the North Dakota border and was established in 1860 by the State Legislature. Breckinridge County was named for Kentucky Democrat and U.S. Vice President (1857-1861) John C. Breckinridge. The county name was changed to Clay County during the Fourth Legislature on March 8, 1862. Sources: Clay County website. Minnesota Geographic Names, by Warren Upham (Minnesota Historical Society, 1969).

Legislative Districts

Congressional Districts
Starting Ending Districts
1860 1862 At-Large
Senate Districts
Starting Ending Districts
1861 1862 SD 03
House Districts
Starting Ending Districts
1861 1862 HD 03


No candidates available. Check back later!